The Good, The Bad & The Ugly of 2014

2014 has been harsh… it has been a year of great volatility and major drama.

The highlight reel:

  • Sailing down the Aswan Nile in the still of the night, star-gazing while relaxing on the sailboat’s roof.
  • Quitting my job.
  • Reaching the limits of my tolerance & capacity.
  • Becoming friends with people I didn’t think I would want to get to know. They are now amazingly good friends of mine that I wouldn’t trade for the world.
  • Revoking my resignation to turn a fresh page.
  • Mourning the loss of a friend who was going to change the world.
  • Sitting through a Moroccan Ramadan 7 course Iftar meal.
  • Walking through the old family household in Marrakech, which is now a shooting location for multiple US blockbusters, and hearing all the family stories about my grandfather’s childhood.
  • Screaming through roller-coaster rides and extreme water slides in the September Dubai heat.
  • Watching my baby brother get engaged.
  • Chilling pool side with partners in crime that I hope to keep forever.
  • Seeing recommendations materialize into actual activities by the clients, realising we got through to them and had a real impact on their business/lives.
  • Buying a UPS upon getting tired of spending my summer evenings sitting in the dark wondering how long my phone battery was going to last.
  • Post work world cup games 🙂
  • Having an existentialist crisis and complete meltdown following the loss of our real life Batman.
  • Finding support through the madness.
  • Losing any sort of work/life balance.
  • Working hard in an attempt to find greater balance.
  • Saying goodbye a lot.

I can not claim to be older and wiser or better for the kind of year I have had. Yet for 2015 I shall seek greater adventures and greater discoveries. Moreover I shall strive for greater self-awareness and truth. For at the end of the day, as 2015 comes to a start, the best piece of advice anyone can give you is to be true to yourself. So be yourself, unless of course you can be Bassem Sabry, in that case by all means be Bassem Sabry… our Gotham needs more of him.

Leave a Reply

