Song & Dance

Most of you already know where I stand on Fairuz, I am absolutely fanatic, I would hear her singing the yellow pages. I would hear her tunes all day every day. Hearing her sing live was highlight of the century. So you can imagine my excitement at the prospect of a new album. Yet truth of the matter is, now that the album is out. I actually hate it.

I found his remix of El Bent El Challabeya ridiculous. Melodies to most of the songs were boring. Her voice isn’t what it used to be. I didn’t fall in love with the lyrics of any one particular song. Please spare me the argument that I didn’t give it a chance and that I must hear it a few times for it to grow on me. This very argument is the reason Arabic music is going down the drain. If you have to get used to it to like it then it probably wasn’t that good to start with. Great music, is music you fall in love with instantaneously, first run through. Think back to how you reacted to her earlier albums/songs, how the Rahbani music swept you away, how the lyrics touched you, how her voice miraculously made the world good again.

My adorable Mom upon hearing the album commented that it felt that the music and lyrics were written and composed with the 4 Cats in mind rather than Fairouz. Woman makes a valid comparison. Will leave you with the only song on the album I could half stomach.

Santana has a new album out. A Santana take on rock classics. Like most cover albums it carries the promise of greatness as well as the premise of crashing and burning. I love who he’s chosen to collaborate with. The Rob Thomas and Daughtry covers were brilliant. I hated his rendition of Smoke on the Water, was an odd choice for his musical style to start with. On the other hand, his version of the Beatles classic “While My Guitar Gently Weeps” is probably some of the best music I’ve heard in ages. BRILLIANT! Here you go, you’ll hardly recognise the song.

If you are into the local music scene I have a recommendation for you. Some local boys play some really good rock and alternative. Check them out here. Band is called Digla and their CD is available next to check out at Diwan. Totally worth the buy. You can listen to some of their tracks on their website to see if they are your style.

Finally, as a special dedication, the ides of March, just for you. Enjoy.

 

2 thoughts on “Song & Dance

  1. Fayrooz’ new album is a music master piece by all means. Her voice deteriorated big time but are u kidding me?..The arrangements are extravagant and Bent El Shalabeya in particular is awesome..it’s a music school in itself..Ziad Rahbany rocks!

Leave a Reply

