Let’s See How Far We’ve Come

Hello
Hello
Hello

Here we are at the start of 2010 and we’ve yet to bid 2009 goodbye. So here goes, out of the need to not break a habit, 2009 reviewed!

Waking up at the start of the end of the world,
But it’s feeling just like every other morning before,
Now I wonder what my life is going to mean if it’s gone,

As usual my year started with that gnawing feeling at the pit of my stomach and the associated New-Year-new-me syndrome, aka identity crisis. Read Who Am I for a description. I was out to make a change. (Complete side note, there is an AMAZING song by the same name, if you are feeling spiritual do look it up, or drop me a line I’ll mail it to you).

The cars are moving like a half a mile an hour
And I started staring at the passengers who’re waving goodbye
Can you tell me what was ever really special about me all this time?

Initially I thought I’d once again switch careers or change jobs. Yet found myself bombarded with such an insane amount of boycott messages I’ve channeled my confusion to other pursuits. An angry post was met with great support from the blogosphere and here we were Going Local!

I believe the world is burning to the ground
Oh well I guess we’re gonna find out
Let’s see how far we’ve come
Let’s see how far we’ve come

So we did that for a couple of month, we tried to get people to see Egypt as more than it’s hot, crowded, polluted self; to appreciate some of the local products/services out there and to try themselves to play a more proactive part in developing the nation.

I will be the first to say, the campaign might not have been perfect, we may have ran out of steam too soon. Yet I still very much believe in the concept. Any shortcomings are my own and I take responsibility for. Apologies to those who expected more but I hope we made a change on some level.

Well I believe it all is coming to an end
Oh well, I guess, we’re gonna pretend,
Let’s see how far we’ve come
Let’s see how far we’ve come

2008 was a year of successes. I achieved all I set out to do. I crossed out every single item on my To Do (resolution) list. I theoretically should have been a very happy camper. Yet truth of the matter is, for 2008 (and all the years before it for that matter) I hardly ever tried, everything sorta just came easy. 2009 for me was a year of trials and tribulations. I went after everything I thought I wanted to do. I did some things for the right reasons and some things for the most absurdly wrong ones. Yet I didn’t miss a chance or an opportunity. I gave it my all! I tried at every bloody one of those things, with varying degrees of course.

I think it turned ten o’clock but I don’t really know
And I can’t remember caring for an hour or so
Started crying and I couldn’t stop myself
I started running but there’s nowhere to run to


End results might not be a lot to show for from your view as a neutral third party observer. You see, I’ve accomplished much less than I did in 2008. Yet I’ve tried at so much more. I’ve won some and learned some (rights reserved to Jason Mraz). Yet it doesn’t feel so bad. I feel older, perhaps wiser; like I’ve seen a lot more than I normally would. I’ve stretched myself to its limits and discovered what I can and can’t get away with putting in a certain amount of effort.

I sat down on the street took a look at myself
Said where you going man you know the world is headed for hell
Say your goodbyes if you’ve got someone you can say goodbye to

My theme for 2009 is “Don’t be wary of the kindness of strangers”. One can never say thank you enough. So for all the then strangers who are now good friends who have decided to believe in me and whom have been remotely or personally supportive and encouraging and who saw potential when I had given up all hope…. To you all I am forever indebted and then some!

I believe the world is burning to the ground
Oh well I guess we’re gonna find out
Let’s see how far we’ve come
Let’s see how far we’ve come

Work was thoroughly entertaining in 2009, local scandal and international fraud and general havoc on all levels. Never a dull moment at Donald Duck and Sesame Street! Spent the summer learning that “work from home” could both be the best thing on the planet and the worst! It really comes down to whose home you are working from 😉 Went against my boss’s better judgment, bid for a tender, got that deal and had complete freedom over execution. If that wasn’t awesome enough I got blessed with the best interns on the planet. They know who they are. I feel very privileged to have worked with them. I know I might not be tough boss material, but I wouldn’t trade being their “boss” for the world.

Well I, believe, it all, is coming to an end
Oh well, I guess, we’re gonna pretend,
Let’s see how far we’ve come
Let’s see how far we’ve come

On the reading front, my passion for fiction had to take a back seat to the rash decision to sit for the CFA exam. Majority of the year’s reading has been technical. Yet what I did read this year, I thoroughly enjoyed. I have not had a chance to do book reviews of my latest reads, yet I’ve been introduced to Hakim and I love his work. Also, a talented friend introduced me to a young writer who is destined to become a friend as well. The latter is a bestselling author, her book I find charming on multiple levels. Her Arabic is very easy to read and her emotions raw yet refined. Some posts I felt so much I could have sworn I’d written them myself. Kindly head to the closest Sherouk and pick up “Alexandria-Beirut”.

It’s gone, gone, baby, it’s all gone
There is no one on the corner and there’s no one at home
It was cool cool, it was just all cool
Now it’s over for me and it’s over for you

If I had to describe 2009 in one word, that word would be INTENSE. The tempo has been crazy and my blogging minimal (I’m sorry L). I’ve met an array of amazing and unique individuals. Lots of whom I’ve become really good friends in record time. I value to no end all the lovely men and women I’ve met in 2009. I both appreciate them immensely and thoroughly enjoy their friendships. I can’t imagine my life without them, I’m better because of them and hoping they are not too much worse because of me.

Well it’s gone, gone, baby, it’s all gone
There is no one on the corner and there’s no one at home
Well it was cool cool, it was just all cool
Now it’s over for me and it’s over for you

I am not sure if all of you are aware of this, but I’m currently in Dubai (also known as the soul-less city) for work. This three month stretch of living alone has been very educational. Other than realizing I can live alone without much difficulty, despite my mom’s reservations on my ironing skills. I actually realized that even the most fun place on earth isn’t enough. I actually want to go home. I couldn’t care less about Cairo to be honest with you, yet I miss my city by the sea.

The Alexandria air is calling me. I miss my sister and cousin in dragon like proportions (have decided if we are going to ruin the Arabic language we might as well translate this deranged slang to English). I miss my peeps. To all my inner circle back home, you guys and gals rock and Dubai or heaven on earth for that matter would still suck without you. I’ve been walking around this city doing activities and chilling, all the time making mental notes of who’d enjoy doing what around this place. Thank God for skype.

I believe the world is burning to the ground
Oh well I guess we’re gonna find out
Let’s see how far we’ve come
Let’s see how far we’ve come

On a much more conceited and self centered note, The International Who’s Who Historical Society have selected me for their 2009/2010 issue of the International Who’s Who for Professionals for “exemplary achievement and distinguished contributions to the business community”. I am still in a state of shock and disbelief. Looking back at it now, I can’t shake the feeling that I dreamt this up.

Well I, believe, it all, is coming to an end
Oh well, I guess, we’re gonna pretend,
Let’s see how far we’ve come
Let’s see how far we’ve come

I leave 2009 exchausted and blessed. I leave it knowing there is very little more that could have been done. I am still miles from home on that journey to find myself. I have let 2009 go, sending it off with a bang at a White party on a beach in Dubai with a live band playing 80s hits and the most stunning firework display I’ve ever seen lighting up the Dubai sky.

Let’s see how far we’ve come
Let’s see how far we’ve come
Let’s see how far we’ve come

I wish 2010 great luck and success in following an act like this. My wish to all of you for 2010 is intenseness J May you enjoy every moment in 2010 to its maximum. May you get a chance to do all you’ve been dreaming of doing and all which you’ve never realized you’ve been aching to do. May you all travel the world and grow in the process. May your blogs fill with stories of achievements and happy occasions and great literary attempts, while having far fewer rants and sad posts.  May you learn something new every day. May you get a chance to teach something you are passionate about to someone else, it is a gift! May you read and learn and live and learn. May you always be the best possible version of you. May you always be in the best of health and highest of spirits. May your family and loved ones always be safe and sound. May you feel validated and actualized every day. May you always get the chance amidst all the madness to have a cup of coffee with a good friend, a drive around the block or a sincere chat over sushi!

Let’s meet back here in Jan 2011, I would love to see how far we’ve come!

Let’s see how far we’ve come
Let’s see how far we’ve come
Let’s see how far we’ve come*

*Song in Italics is the Matchbox Twenty hit which I’ve been humming all year, How Far We’ve Come. Enjoy the song!

Was very tempted to go with “Man in the Mirror”, this being the year we lost MJ and all, yet this song means more to me and is more relevant to this year 🙂 Take care you all!

3 thoughts on “Let’s See How Far We’ve Come

Leave a Reply

