On the exhausting “too”

I can’t do it. No strike that, I can, I just don’t particularly feel the sincerest doing it, even in instances where I’m genuine and sincere. I don’t like it coming across as an automated response. I don’t want you registering that I said it just because you did. I need you to know that it is true. Even if the famed “too” response was not instant nor gratifying. Know because it is implied in every single action of my day, in the tone of my voice, in the look in my eyes and in my cursed word choices.

Hence for all it is worth, please don’t take it personally if I’m unable to respond to the following phrases with the fact that I “too” do:

  • I miss you.
  • I love you.
  • I care.
  • I admire you.
  • I respect you.
  • I thank the Lord for your existence.
  • I appreciate you.

List isn’t exhaustive. Yet what holds for these probably holds for all variations of these.

I do care, I will miss you, I appreciate you more than words could say, but just can’t bring myself to say it right now.

I was told recently, in response to an “I’m here for you”, that this isn’t what my friend wanted, that it was an empty promise and that actions spoke way louder than words. Got me thinking if I’m an all talk and no action person. Figured I probably was when it came to my own dreams, but I’d like to think I don’t make people empty promises. We’ll have to wait and see.

5 thoughts on “On the exhausting “too”

  1. Jessyz: I don’t know if it is about that; was thinking more genuine versus inspired reciprocity!

    Sandra: it was very original; I’d never heard it before; I was so overwhelmed I was surprised I could find words… To this day when it is spoken it touches me deeply.. like nothing else!

  2. hey, I thought it was just me.. that exhausting “too”. I want to say it but it just sticks there in my throat and doesn’t come out.. or comes out in a murmur of sorts.. ‘sure’, ‘yeah’, ‘okay’ to me are fine but to the other person seem indifferent – or distant.. while it’s not intentionally. It’s simply not the right moment right now to say ‘too’. I feel I’d be a hypocrite if I said. Not sincere.

Leave a Reply

