Jibran

Mahdy has successfully put me in such a Jibran mood.

Here is the dosage I’ve decided to share with you today:

The House of Fortune

My wearied heart bade me farewell and left for the House of Fortune. As he reached that holy city which the soul had blessed and worshiped, he commenced wondering, for he could not find what he had always imagined would be there. The city was empty of power, money, and authority.

And my heart spoke to the daughter of Love saying, “Oh Love, where can I find Contentment? I heard that she had come here to join you.”

And the daughter of Love responded, “Contentment has already gone to preach her gospel in the city, where greed and corruption are paramount; we are not in need of her.”

Fortune craves not Contentment, for it is an earthly hope, and its desires are embraced by union with objects, while Contentment is naught but heartfelt.

The eternal soul is never contented; it ever seeks exaltation. Then my heart looked upon Life of Beauty and said: “Thou art all knowledge; enlighten me as to the mystery of Woman.” And he answered, “Oh human heart, woman is your own reflection, and whatever you are, she is; wherever you live, she lives; she is like religion if not interpreted by the ignorant, and like a moon, if not veiled with clouds, and like a breeze, if not poisoned with impurities.”

And my heart walked toward Knowledge, the daughter of Love and Beauty, and said, “Bestow upon me wisdom, that I might share it with the people.” And she responded, “Say not wisdom, but rather fortune, for real fortune comes not from outside, but begins in the Holy of Holies of life. Share of thyself with the people.”

2 thoughts on “Jibran

  1. “The eternal soul is never contented; it ever seeks exaltation”

    I think that’s true.

    I don’t get the part about woman being the reflection of the human heart, would appreciate an interpretation.

  2. Cesario: Arrogant as I am, I am almost too afraid to attempt an interpretation of Jibran ๐Ÿ™‚ Confusion is partially attributed to this being a translation, he originally wrote it in Arabic.

    My take is that Jibran was saying that a woman is like the raw sentiment, the untainted source of life.

    The analogies he uses are beautiful “she is like religion if not interpreted by the ignorant” – to me that’s his take on communication and understanding. That women in fact are not the source of all evil, that it takes correct understanding rather than ignorant and archaic stereotyping and patronizing.

    “and like a moon, if not veiled with clouds,” – what can I say babe, the man himself feels we are innately sources of light and enlightenment.

    “and like a breeze, if not poisoned with impurities.โ€ – Also just riffing here, but could have been symbolic of freedom, of freshness or rejuvenation ๐Ÿ™‚

    Cesario: Thank you for making me take a deeper look at the words and to attempt to come up with explanations! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

