“Fated to Pretend”

Clients are sending me 2009 agendas. I open my desk drawer and there are a bunch of unused 2008 ones. Another year over already. You know you’re getting old when they seem to go faster and faster each year.

OK, lets get down to it, the year in review. One of my fave ex-bloggers asked me how my year was, so I’m going to give you the same account I gave her.

“I’m feeling rough, I’m feeling raw, I’m in the prime of my life.”

2008 had its moments. I’d say that I had my moments in 2008; but it is the year that’s under review not me. ย As I was saying, it had its moments. Standing on a stage recieving an MBA diploma after two years of giving up weekends was priceless. Seeing Fairouz perform live was a once in a lifetime experience. Closing my first deal was an adrenaline rush. Creating then managing a team for the first time was exhiliarting. Travelling all over Egypt for that project (that included day trips to Luxor, you have no idea) was delightfully exhausting. Living on my own for a while (Dubai) was exactly what the doctor ordered. Meeting up with old friends for my high school 10 year reunion in another country was sweet.

See what I mean? that 08, it had its moments.ย 

It had its share of stress, anger, disappointment, frustration and failure as well. Yet out of fairness, all the rotten stuff always came bundled with finer moments to break the fall.

“This is our decision, to live fast and die young.

We’ve got the vision, now let’s have some fun.”

I’ve been driven to tears by great disappointment and by great anger. I’d like to say great sadness results in that, but I’m more of a get angry than a get sad person. I’ve also had my perspective altered in the most shocking of ways, I’ve come to appreciate that those things were unworthy of such extreme reactions, cause life is much shorter than we imagine.

“I’ll miss the playgrounds and the animals and digging up worms
I’ll miss the comfort of my mother and the weight of the world
I’ll miss my sister, miss my father, miss my dog and my home
Yeah, I’ll miss the boredom and the freedom and the time spent alone.”

I’ve said goodbye to a wealth of people, for varying durations of time. ย I’ve also had the pleasure of meeting a bunch of interesting people. many of whom I am hoping to keep around.

I’ve gotten the sweetest long distance calls when they were most needed (I know you are reading, THANK YOU).

I’ve seen Egypt like I never thought I would. Drove, rode, walked and flew to and/or in every single governorate.

I’ve biked the streets of Cairo and felt the air rush against me as I tore down the 15 May bridge to Zamalek ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve shopped till my credit cards were all maxxed out and the shopping attendants knew me by name (and this is Dubai mind you).

I’ve eaten genuine Indian food at a genuine Indian home and saw the virtual smoke go out of my then fire-truck red ears. Worthy of mention is that this was the watered down version she made on my behalf (love you Pooj).

I’ve fallen in an out of love and in and out of friendship. I’ve learned to let go. Indifference is bliss.

“There’s really nothing, nothing we can do
Love must be forgotten, life can always start up anew.”

I’ve read some great books, nothing pars with the Kite Runner yet, but it’s been fun times. Several of my friends got published, how cool is that!ย 

This was a good year musically, a fair share of Opera and Sakya events and a good deal of updates to my iPod playlist. ย 

A friend of ours wrote and directed a hit movie, I still think it was Arabic movie of the year, Go AMR! I can’t think of a best movie for 2008, that’s not usually a good sign. I liked 21, Mamma Mia, The Dark Knight (Ledger was brilliant), Body of Lies and Maid of Honour to name a few. I am sold on the idea that I can beat the system at Blackjack ๐Ÿ™‚

I have run very fast, covered fresh territory, banged against walls and was sometimes handed keys to doors. I leave this year behind with no regrets. I would not have done a single thing differently. I look forward to 09!

Most importantly, for the first time in a long time, I have a plan! No resolutions, just that bucket list and the belief that I’m the only one I cheat, when I go through life not trying.

“Forget about our mothers and our friends
We’re fated to pretend!”

Happy 09 boys and girls!

12 thoughts on ““Fated to Pretend”

  1. What a busy year ๐Ÿ™‚
    One thing for the people to know, 08 witnessed putting out friendship back on track after 6 months of ………………. ( It’s one of the important points of my year )
    Have an extra-ordinary 09.

  2. Loved reading that… currently writing my own. Have a great year Jukes and live to the max, you already have the potential to! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. “I leave this year behind with no regrets. I would not have done a single thing differently.”

    It couldn’t be any better. Yeah!
    Happy 09 – and everything that comes next!

Leave a Reply

