Going back to basics

TRUE! – NERVOUS – very, very dreadfully nervous I had been and am! but why will you say that I am mad? The disease has sharpened my senses – not destroyed – not dulled them. Above all was the sense of hearing acute. I heard all the things in the heaven and in the earth. I heard many things in hell. How, then, am I mad? Hearken! and observe how healthily – how calmly I can tell you the whole story.

I studied this story back in middle school. I had bought the book at last year’s book fair in a moment of nostalgia. It had sat in my library since. This weekend I had an event where I knew I’d have a lot of time on my hands waiting for things to start. I picked a book randomly and it turned out to be writings of Poe. I love his insanity. I miss being that age and being able to devour books at leisure without the guilt I’m experiencing now about abandoning stuff I should be reading for work or academics.

2 thoughts on “Going back to basics

Leave a Reply

