Late: The Dark Knight

Postponed movie review.

The latest installment in the Batman Saga brings Bale to the screen again as the strapping but troubled Bruce Wayne. Advances in editing and super effects technology have enabled the director to perform feats unimaginable in previous installments. Looking beyond the glass shattering, car chases, costume design and explosion sequences to make up and engineering advances.

Casting as usual was brilliant. Heath Ledger deserved a standing ovation for his last big screen role. He rendered us unable to look at the screen; dumbstruck in awe, disgust and horror. It squeezed my heart to know that his radiating brilliance will fill the giant screen no more. I loved how every time he told the story of how he got his scars he spun a completely different tale.

The Joker: Come here. Hey! Look at me. So I had a wife, beautiful, like you, who tells me I worry too much. Who tells me I ought to smile more. Who gambles and gets in deep with the sharks… look at me! One day, they carve her face. And we have no money for surgeries. She can’t take it. I just want to see her smile again, hmm? I just want her to know that I don’t care about the scars. So… I stick a razor in my mouth and do this…
[mimics slicing his mouth open with his tongue]
The Joker: …to myself. And you know what? She can’t stand the sight of me! She leaves. Now I see the funny side. Now I’m always smiling!

Movie was long, perhaps too long, at times I actually wished they’d cut out sequences, or broken it into two flicks, an original and a sequel. I would have felt comfortable had they ended the movie with the scene where Harvey Dent gets exploded. with the Joker in jail. The rest could have waited to be told on another day. Yet, director decided to keep on trucking.

I liked A LOT the moral dilemma posed by the Joker. I don’t think the movie outcome of it was realistic though, I honestly believe a lot less in mankind. Harvey Dent’s post-explosion face was eerily gross and brilliantly executed. His eye-ball rolling in it’s socket, the bone structure of his face, the remaining muscle and tendon structure! BRILLIANT!

I hated the ending though!

*** Spoiler Alert ***

Ok fine the Joker gets to fight another day. The good guy turned bad is dead (although he had amazing potential for villain in next installment, why he killed him off is beyond me!!). Batman has become the bad guy. The girl is dead!

How is that a good ending?!!

The Joker: I took Gotham’s white knight, and brought him down to our level. It wasn’t hard. Y’see, madness, as you know, is like gravity. All it takes is a little…push.

6 thoughts on “Late: The Dark Knight

  1. It was an amazing movie, but I disagree with u about the ending. It’s realistic enough. Dent wouldn’t have lost his mind had the girl stayed alive, and Batman wouldn’t have been successful if Dent was captured and revealed to all Gotham as Two-face.

  2. Marooned84: What I didn’t like is that Dent died and they blamed Batman for his actions to protect the legend of the white knight! Was too Egyptian movieish for my liking.

  3. I think Heath Ledger performed a brilliant role in the movie, yet, the movie in the overall is not to my liking.. I agree it was too long, the effects were way better than the previous installments, but It came to a disappointment after what I heard about it..

    Love the review 🙂

  4. Actually the most thing that i didn’t like about the movie is that the ferries passengers didn’t blow each others up , it would’ve been perfect if the criminals through the device in the sea and the civilians decided to blow the other ferry up .
    it would’ve showed how sick mankind actually is .

Leave a Reply

