“For you a thousand times over!”

Went to see the wide screen interpretation of one of my favorite novels of all time. I stick by my view that movies seldom live up to the brilliance of the books on which they are based. That is not to say that I didn’t cry, for tears did I shed at all the emotionally touching parts of the flick.

The casting was brilliant, using actual Afghan boys for the lead roles added an incredible level of authenticity to the movie. The entire first half of the movie is in Afghan too, I’m not sure if I’m pro or against. On one hand I understand his strive to achieve authenticity and do the novel justice. On the other hand, I felt having to read subtitles distanced me from the action on the screen.

I loved the soundtrack and wardrobe and locations during the entire movie with one sole exception. I found it corny despite being warned by Hola. In the scene where he goes to pray in the masjid they play Sami Youssef! I mean come on! Please! It’s becoming sickeningly cliche!

The ending and beginning are every bit as amazing as I expected and more. You really do want to pick up that kid, hug him and shelter him from the cruel world. Apologize on it’s behalf for having wronged him so bad (I’m quoting a friend).

A must see!

“If America taught me anything, it’s that quitting is right up there with pissing in the Girl Scouts’ lemonade jar.”

5 thoughts on ““For you a thousand times over!”

  1. I made a terrible mistake with that book, I read it felsa7el.. and its not something to read at the beach… It kicked in really bad back in Cairo..I spent the whole week after I got back tearing up at memories of Hassan and Amir! Will try to go see it among the list of “8 movies I want to see and won’t have enough time to”! Thanks for the review.

  2. i just saw the movie yesterday, based on ur recommendation…loved it. and the sami youssef part wasn’t bad at all actually…the song was perfect for the scene. however, i didn’t like the acting of Amir Jan when he was grown up..i loved the 2 kids’ acting, especially Hassan.

  3. I am glad that you like it! I just finished a thousand splendid suns and it was up there with lord of the rings in my opinion. I have NEVER felt so attached to a character. I will buy this movie based on your review and my attachment to his other novel. Continue writing!

  4. D: You never told me, did you see the movie?

    Greyscale: I’m glad you liked it, I found his second book HIGHLY disappointing.

    Jarhead: Did you like it?

Leave a Reply

