The Age of Discontent

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair, we had everything before us, we had nothing before us, we were all going direct to Heaven, we were all going direct the other way–in short, the period was so far like the present period, that some of its noisiest authorities insisted on its being received, for good or for evil, in the superlative degree of comparison only.

I guess Dickens said it best. Yet I can’t help but feel that we are living the age of discontent. Look around you at your friends, family, then look at the mirror. Ask yourself are you happy?

Recently it’s become epidemic, the overall level of boredom and discontent. Everybody is bored of life itself. It seems we live in the same circles, meeting the same people, going to the same places having the same discussions over and over and over again. A vicious cycle, a loop of melancholy and utter boredom. It’s become the normal complaint, the automated response to “how are you?” or “what have you been up to?”. “Nothing much happening” and “I’m BORED” have replaced “elhamdollelah” and “ahy mashya” as the two most popular answers.

Funny thing is that while you’d hear of this before, now it seems it’s all I ever hear. In any group, varying crowds, it seems to be the consensus. As if interest or intrigue is an artificial high which to reach you have to take increasing amounts of the drug, whatever that drug may be. So simple fun activities no longer cut it, you are in constant need for newer bigger better never-before-attempted adrenaline inducing activities.

Then if you are not bored, you are unhappy, you are taking every opportunity to whine and complain to anyone who’d listen or read about your job, life, relationship and family. I’ve yet to hear someone claim to be happy with his/her job or what they do. You’d meet someone new, ask them what they do for a living, then if insane you can venture a “mabsout?”. I’m willing to handover green cash to anybody who’s ever heard that being answered with an affirmative.

Also people are incapable of relationship happiness in this era, for as AEB so eloquently put it “irrespective of your relationship status, it’s a source of complaint, and a different relationship status is always coveted.”

Ah I guess after all I’m a discontent member of this discontent age of which I dare speak and dare not complain.

15 thoughts on “The Age of Discontent

  1. Well my mom’s Elixer of life is “el gawagz howa aham haga (noss eldeen)”…………………mom and her infinite wisdom wants to add another bored person into the mix………poor woman mentally still living in nasser/sadat’s egypt……oh perils of the offspring of expats.

  2. Belya: Yeah I agree with you… spiritual emptiness.

    ZC: LOL! Not sure if it’ll make you feel any better, but you are not alone. It seems it’s in the “how-to-be-a-mom” manual 🙂

  3. But you know with all that being said, I sitll believe that some people really know how to enjoy their lives. They tend to realize eno maybe they don’t like their jobs awi, bas they can earn some money which would help them in doing what they want to do.
    People suck, but life is good…you just gotta work your way out. If you are unhappy find what makes you happy.

  4. ZC: Zalmeen entom Friedman 😉 Other than that you go man!

    Nerro: Yeah I guess, I remember a time when there was a higher level of satisfaction. I think part of the problem is this blog, I’ve grown too accustomed to being the narrator and have forgotten what it would be like to be the star. (self-centered, I’m aware).

  5. he has the whole middle east fooled with that mustache :D……the late Edward Said only referred to him as “the duplicitous and jejune” Thomas Friedman…..anyway of to the hospital

  6. Life has become complicated, there are people who really do suffer and don’t have the luxury of complaining and others who seek perfection, running, racing and raising the bar just to be as others or reach a higher status or … whatever.
    They never have the time to pause for a while and enjoy what they have when their eyes are after what they don’t have.
    Every morning is a gift, one should be happy and grateful that he/she is surviving one more day…
    In my opinion, the key is satisfaction; we have to work on it.

  7. I might be stupid for being the only one to say it but I think I am overall happy.
    There are parts of my job that I do not like, but I love being a teacher and I love my students. Not all days are perfect, but I do lok forward to going to work most days.

    And I am happy in my relationship.

    I guess life is what you make of it. One of my main goals in life is to be happy and I guess that is why I can say that I am happy.

    Do you try to make a point of making yourself happy. Do you look at everything in your life and look for the good, fun parts of it?

Leave a Reply

