7 Habits of Highly Effective People

I’m not one for the self help books, they provoke me, and I find them very slow paced and extremely irritating. As a result I’ve passed on the whole John Gray mania and on a less romantic note the infamous Steven Covey.

Accordingly I wasn’t that excited when my BC announced that a friend was giving a 5 day crash work shop on the 7 Habits of Highly Effective People. Desire to see them got me to go. I sat there listening to a lot of stuff that I would otherwise have cast aside as common sense etc…

Then I stopped and took an honest look at myself and realized that for the past week or so, I’ve been reacting, as if the entire world was out of my hand and I was just reacting to it all.. damage control so to speak.

I was told that when faced with an external stimuli I could choose how to react… and no matter what the results were.. there are always lessons learned.

So here is my take-away of this week:

  • NEVER EVER indulge in a fight between friends… good intentions or not… sometimes you just can’t win…. and in this case even when one of them wins.. I lose.
  • I give up way too easily
  • I don’t fully understand the value of things/ people until I’m on the edge of losing them/it or have lost it/them already.
  • There is no such thing as a selfless relationship, you’re always in it for something.. even if that thing isn’t material… and not recognized by the other party.
  • Individuals weave in and out of each other’s lives… consistency is a thing of the past.. at best you can aspire to have had a positive impact on the lives you’ve been blessed enough to touch.
  • You always… always have a choice!
4 thoughts on “7 Habits of Highly Effective People

  1. very introspective…I’ve always found that self help books are either awkward and counter intuitive or preachy and pretentious post new age garble……….but your take homes are on the money except I personally feel that mothers are never ending fountains of selflessness…..but everyone else is in it for something.

  2. I am not a fan of self help books but I believe they are useful, I know that the first reaction when u start reading is … yeah right, as if I didn’t know “rolling eyes” . then you start realizing that we all know what the right things are but we need to pause every once in while, read them over again, think and ask ourselves if that’s what we r doing or not.
    I liked ur take aways, thanks dear for sharing 🙂

  3. try audio books, they are way easier to read(listen).
    and you can think about it this way “if you can convert all the time you spend in transportation into learning hours, then you will be the most educated man in the world”
    this is what i like the most about audio books, u can use them absolutely anytime and anywhere.
    and speaking of john gray, i am a big fan of him, and if you are interested, here is a link to some of his sessions
    http://www.verticalawareness.com/

Leave a Reply

