11 Minutes and Kite Runner

In between semesters I had dived into stash amassed from book fair excursion with Nousha et all. Hence I’ve read “11 minutes” and “Kite Runner” along with quite a few murder mysteries but the Queen don’t count!

I’m very public about my dislike of Paulo, this book was no different. I stand my ground! Having said so I’m very fond of the intro, I found the first few pages quite captivating. That’s probably all the more frustrating, book starts good then deteriorates as you go on, making it very tempting to stop reading it alltogether. I actually have a couple of friends who did just that, they lost hope halfway into the book. I pushed through, but amย not in any way awed by what I read.

Having come out of the trauma of reading “11 minutes” I decided to read another much talked about book. “The Kite Runner” it was! I have to say the cover and title were not in the least bit attractive… but OH MY GOD. One really should never judge a book by it’s cover. This was by far the best book I’ve read in years. The writing style delightful and the characters very realistic. No idealists in this book, just humans growing up and learning and maturing along the way. As you follow Amir in his journey you see glimpses of yourself along the way. I can’t do it justice, I’ll just rave mindlessly for paragraphs on how amazing the book is. Instead I implore you all to read it, it’s a self discovery in itself and I promise you, you’ll end up better people.

I became what I am today at the age of twelve, on a frigid overcast day in the winter of 1975. I remember the precise moment, crouching behind a crumbling mud wall, peeking into the alley near the frozen creek. That was a long time ago, but it’s wrong what they say about the past, I’ve learned, about how you can bury it. Because the past claws its way out. Looking back now, I realize I have been peeking into that deserted alley for the last twenty-six years.

P.S. You can’t help but love the ending.

Song of the day: Santana ~ Persuasion

13 thoughts on “11 Minutes and Kite Runner

  1. hmmmm, u can’t change ur mind about Coelho..Okay i can’t but accept diversities ๐Ÿ™‚
    i’ll read Kite runner very soon, u encouraged me soo much

  2. me too I agree about the cover,,, u mean the boy standing behind a door, right?
    the funny thing is that few days ago I saw on the news a piece about this tournament ๐Ÿ™‚ it is really a big thing 3andohom !

  3. Sou: Awww shucks!! *blushing smiley*

    Nousha: YES, that’s the cover, they could have done better. I think it’s nice that Kites are a big deal. I wish more such childish endeavours were big deals worldwide.

  4. I couldn’t agree more.
    “The Kite Runner” was one of my best reads in such a long time.
    And i LOVED the ending….i kept reading and re-reading it over and over again!

Leave a Reply

