The Real Me

More poetry by the sis, will get her to move into a separate blog if the flow continues.

I wonder why I have versions of me
the polite, the outspoken and the real me.
I guess it’s a combination of all of me,
but is only revealed when I’m at ease;
with the people I’m not worried will judge me.
See, there’s the polite me when I meet someone new,
and there is the outspoken me, mostly when I’m afraid or provoked
But then there’s me that comes out when I’m with friends and comfy
Now that’s what I don’t understand about me
I’m me when I’m with friends I trust and think of as just a friend
Or with people I don’t care what they think of me.
But when there’s someone I really like, I’m too afraid of being judged
so I’m not really me, I’m the polite, perfect me
Although I hope if he’ll like me, he’ll like the real me.

D

4 thoughts on “The Real Me

  1. Unfortunately this happens all the time. I think growing up entails both: discovering the real you and knowing how to express it truthfully. Good luck in the journey.

Leave a Reply

