Mother’s Day :)

Ode to a mother

A day to celebrate mothers…
Like they could ever be celebrated in a day.

Women extraordinary beyond description…
Like my words can ever do them justice.

How do you say thank you?
Like you could ever voice that emotion.
To a woman who’s earned undying devotion:

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY
Every day.
Even if I don’t say it enough.
Even if sometimes I don’t act like its true.
I know, I’ll forever love you.

Inji
To my mom, on Mother’s day

Song going through my head is Marsel Khalifa’s Kahwato Ommy
أحن الى خبزي أمي
و قهوة أمي
و لمسة أمي
و تكبر فيً الطفولة
يوما على صدري يومي
و أعشق عمري
لأني إذا مت أخجل من دمع أمي

خذيني أمي إذا عدت يوما وشاحا لهدبك
و غطي عظامي بعشب
تعمد من طهر كعبك
و شدي وثاقي بخصلة شعري
بخيط يلوح في زيل ثوبك

ضعيني اذا ما رجعت
وقودا في تنور نارك يا أمي
و حبل غسيل على سطح دارك
لأني فقدت الوقوف بدون صلاة نهاري

هرمت فردي نجوم الطفولة
حتى أشارك صغار العصافير
درب الرجوع لعش انتظارك

أمي أمي أمي أمي

أحن الى خبزي أمي
و قهوة أمي
و لمسة أمي
و تكبر فيً الطفولة
يوما على صدري يومي
و أعشق عمري
لأني إذا مت أخجل من دمع أمي

2 thoughts on “Mother’s Day :)

  1. This is one of my favorite songs for Marsel Khalifa…it would be great if you find it on You Tube…I have on my page a song for mothers by Sami Yusuf…check it out if you like!

  2. The ‘qahwatu ummy’ poem is by Mahmoud Darwish… put in a Palestinian context, the thought of the guy dying takes very different proportions, in my opinion..

Leave a Reply

