The Pursuit of Happyness

“And it was at that time that I thought about Thomas Jefferson writing that Declaration of Independence. Him saying that we have the right to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. And I thought about how he knew to put the ‘pursuit’ in there, like no one can actually have happiness. We can only pursue it.”

A bunch of friends and I went to see “The Pursuit of Happyness” this Friday. It wasn’t a conscious choice, rather the only movie we were all ok with visa vie “The Queen”, “Babel” and “Code 36”.

Movie was cute, funny at parts and overall very inspirational. Will Smith’s son was just adorable. This kid has got a career in acting. Will Smith has come a long way since the Fresh Prince of Bel Air. His acting was very mature and heartfelt.

Movie is your typical rags to riches story. Title is inspired by the quote above from the Declaration of Independence and the typo intentional in reference to a scene in the movie.
Movie is about a guy struggling to make it, to become a broker, to get out of the gutter, to raise his kid and raise him well.

To me, perhaps cause I’m an economist, movie wasn’t as inspiring as “A Beautiful Mind”. Something was missing. I can’t quite place it. Perhaps the message was too clear. Perhaps the ending too bland. Maybe the characters were too few. Movie lacked luster I’m afraid to report. Yet the message in the movie is worth relaying to you. So here goes:

Christopher Gardner: [to his son] You got a dream, you gotta protect it. People can’t do something themselves, they wanna tell you that you can’t do it. You want something? Go get it. Period.

Song of the day: Father and Son

9 thoughts on “The Pursuit of Happyness

  1. I saw that movie too, bard out of lack of available choices.
    I loved the inspirational part of the story, but frankly it was a bit too much, the movie seemed to be very long, even though Will Smith was brilliant, and his kid was just ADORABLE!

  2. Nousha: yes he was 😀

    Angelo: A movie recommendation perhaps?

    Maxxed Out: Same question, recommend a movie. My desire to go to the cinema was unmet sufficiently by this one. So will risk one more such excursion amidst my finals.

  3. Excellent movie and really I loved it. I identified completed with the movie and I think Will Smith deserve an Oscar-nominee too, his performance was great. Before see it, I knew it was so good, principally because there was acting his soon. Beatiful movie.

Leave a Reply

