Abandoned

This post is re-posted from my old blog, it is also my only physically published writing. Would love feedback.

Steps echoing on a marble floor.

A gust of wind blowing through the open window.

Curtains flapping eerily in the cold chilling air.

The ramblings of a disoriented mind. I am making little to no sense. Then again you can’t really blame me.

The building seemed absolutely abandoned as I walked in. I could hear the sounds of my steps a million times louder as they echoed in the marble hallway. My heels sounded like an entire army was charging and yet their loud sound reminded me of the emptiness around and how entirely alone I was.

It was daytime yet the building was dark, it had a dreary air to it. All the neon lights have decided they needed a break and were striking for shorter working hours and maternity leaves. It was either that or a major power failure. For it seemed the only light in this endless greyness came from what little windows there were.

I walked in a quick brisk step, partially because I was afraid, engulfed in a feeling of discomfort and anxiety. Yet another force was taking over. Strong nostalgia, to the building that once was, to the way we were. I stretched out my right arm and let my fingertips stroke the whitewashed walls as I breezed by them. They felt cold and harsh to my touch. Yet there remained traces of memories embedded in the atoms of the walls. I could almost feel them transferring through the wall and my hands to my head. A rush of images triggering a flood of memories.

Suddenly the corridor seemed transformed, to the bright lively office space it once was. I could hear the laughter and the loud discussions coming from up ahead. I sped faster, reached the door that the sounds were coming from. My trembling hand clasped the door knob and I swung the door open.

The room was completely empty. The desks were cleared of all the papers and belongings that were once there and dust was settling on them systematically. The cabinets were empty, the files and phones no more.

The voices started again, only this time I knew better than to hope that the next room would be any different. I had to face the painful reality. The building was, very much like the rest of us.. abandoned!!

8 thoughts on “Abandoned

  1. Raghooda: You flatter me 🙂 this isn’t a representative sample though, this one people found worthy of publishing, the rest of my stuff isn’t as good.

    Sarah: I write dark moods to discharge them, to avoid feeling like crap. Only I have not written anything in a while, starting to worry.

    OpeRon: Thanks man, you are always very supportive. It was actually written with a specific place in mind.

    Maxxed Out: Yes you did, you were one of the first people to ever comment on it 🙂

    Om Luji: Thanks. WOW. I can seriously claim you put more thought into it than I did, I was entirely driven by emotion at the time. If you liked this you’ll like Ramblings (at least I hope you will). You must be warned though.. it’s LONG!

  2. juka: more than BEUTIFUL!

    It brings tears to my eyes…

    I stretched out my right arm and let my fingertips stroke the whitewashed walls as I breezed by them. They felt cold and harsh to my touch. Yet there remained traces of memories embedded in the atoms of the walls. I could almost feel them transferring through the wall and my hands to my head. A rush of images triggering a flood of memories…. Read more

    gameela ya juka:)

Leave a Reply

