The Choice

Standing at the edge of the world
Outstretched arms reaching for the stars
Fixed gaze level with the horizon
Tired body covered in wounds and scars

It has been a long and heavy journey
To the top of this cliff where I stand
I’d hoped for things to turn out great
Now it was entirely out of my hand

I stood there knowing what I had to do
The dark pitless canyon awaited me below
Felt I needed a running start to jump
For my hesitency was beginning to show

Then it struck me, that its yet to be over
That I have a hand in the matter
I turned around and walked away
With a promise to redo this better

Think before you act
Said my inner voice
To live another day
That is my choice

28/3/2006

Song: Hero – Chad Kruger

4 thoughts on “The Choice

  1. Pingback: Bloody Note « Ramblings of the Disoriented Mind

Leave a Reply

