Growing Pains

Pencil markings on the room wall
Memories of a child’s growing tall
Child-proof locks and safety pins
A hundred different little things
Packed in boxes and stowed away
To be remembered some other day

Wall fills up with pictures we took
My library fills with a hundred books
New perceptions formed as I read
Disney’s Lion King became Hamlet
The pair of jeans I once lived in
Now spends weeks in the laundry bin
School bag replaced by a sleek leather file
My addidas with heels that I totally despise

Pencil markings on the room wall
Memories of a child’s growing tall
Child-proof locks and safety pins
A hundred different little things
Packed in boxes and stowed away
To be remembered some other day

My walkman a discman then an mp3
A digital world. Next? a robotic me!
My tennis racket gathered dust
A favourite chain turned into rust
Take That poster down, Maroon 5 up
Similar minor changes to all my stuff
Pinki swears archaic as we learned to lie
We’d learn much worse things before we die

Pencil markings on the room wall
Memories of a child’s growing tall
Child-proof locks and safety pins
A hundred different little things
Packed in boxes and stowed away
To be remembered some other day

Chaotic and hardly worth the read
Those lines I jot on a clean white sheet
To rant and lament days long gone
To moan of pains of growing old
Going through one such memory box
What do you know, the Beatles still rock
I fingered the keys of a piano I once played
A melody to the song of the growing pains.

Inji
11/9/2006

8 thoughts on “Growing Pains

  1. Pencil markings on the room wall
    Memories of a child’s growing tall
    Child-proof locks and safety pins
    A hundred different little things
    Packed in boxes and stowed away
    To be remembered some other day

    I LIKE THE WHOLE LINES
    Its amazing

    gameela ya juka

Leave a Reply

