Prologue

Prologue

It seemed that corridor would never end. I had been sent by my boss to ask for some documents from the local archive. That has involved taking an elevator trip to the ground floor, to use a different staircase, to go up to the third floor, then criss cross between a maze of desks and offices to end up at the designated corridor. During that trip I had to dodge employees wanting favours from my boss, and walk briskly with a dignified air for them to believe my twenty three year old self actually worked for the Minister. Ah c’est la vie.

Finally the door I seek. I knocked. No answer. I knocked again. Being a really polite young lady raised to obey the rules of diplomatic decorum, my parents taught me never to barge in, but by the fifth knock I was desperate. I slowly creaked open the door; I could not see the inside of the room. I opened it all the way to find nothing but darkness. The room was pitch black, its darkness almost unnatural, as if a black hole dwelled within and was absorbing all the light. To this day I’m not sure what made me do this, but I took a step forward, a step into the unknown.
******

Next…

5 thoughts on “Prologue

  1. The opening sentence seems short and the tenses used are a bit complex…example; “I had been sent”…too many verbs!…how about “The corridor was so long, I thought it will never end. I was sent by my boss to ….”

    Some sentences are too short others are too long…you’ll probably fix it while revising…exciting so far!

  2. Pingback: Disclaimer « Ramblings of the Disoriented Mind

  3. Pingback: I’m cool | Chocolate Mints In a Jar

Leave a Reply

