You are only young once, but you can be immature for a lifetime. ~ John Grier

I guess there is some truth to his cynical remark. Now that I’m over my phase of wallowing in self pity over the 25th anniversary of my birth and all the unachieved targets for this era; I can afford to look at things and contemplate. I guess one always is a certain age at heart. In my case that age is probably 12. I fully embrace that fact that I’ll forever be immature, that I’ll never actually grow up.

It’s reflected in the tiniest of things, the over competitive nature and the need to turn everything into a competition, a bet, a race! Then of course, may the Lord help you if you’re playing, more so if by some sort of miracle (that’s it right there) I lose!

This extends to provide for a whole question everything attitude to life, indigenous in infants. Was quite tiresome at university to have to take everything we were being taught for granted. Not to mention, most professors found it offensive when I didn’t!

Plus of course when you have the mentality of a 5th grader you’re still in the self-righteous phase where you know everything and all other people are idiots, so when you fight you put your heart and soul into it, make heated impassioned arguments and feel justly disappointed when things don’t go your way. You still expect life to be fair  and complain all the time when it’s not.

You know what the best part of being a kid at heart is? It incorporates itself into every single detail of day to day life. You extract great pleasure from things as simple as Disney movies and video and board games. You study for the knowledge not the grades. You work for the fun of it, for your self actualization not caring about the money or the career path. You live truly believing that “In the long run we are all dead”… so you seize the day.

3 thoughts on “You are only young once, but you can be immature for a lifetime. ~ John Grier

  1. Happy Birthday Inji, welcome to the second quarter of the century :)

    I have suffered the aftermath of this particular birthday last year.. It is not so bad though

    & Yes, we are all kids at the heart

Leave a Reply

